Hong Kong Red Cross - Bringing love and care to elderly people living alone

closeclose

Bringing love and care to elderly people living alone


During the current coronavirus outbreak, Hong Kong has seen a city-wide shortage of surgical masks and infection control materials. The effects on society have been significant, especially on elderly people living alone. These elderly people cannot afford to spend much money on such items, and they frequently lack the physical health and stamina to stand in a queue for hours to buy them. But without infection control materials, everyone is at risk. Some elderly people may be too shy to ask for help, as they do not want to bother anyone. The situation is alarming.

 

Mr Ng, aged 79, who has been living alone for many years, after learning about the seriousness of the viral outbreak on the news in late January, he became afraid to leave the house and stopped interacting with his neighbours, whom he used to meet every day. As he had no masks at home, he only dared to go out and buy newspapers from a nearby convenience store at 5am, when there were fewer people on the streets. In the past, he would cook for himself every day, but these days, as he does not want to go out, he only orders takeaway food. This has not only increased his living expenses, it has also dramatically affected his daily life. 

 

Mr Ng is also a patient with chronic disease. He needs to have medical check-up in hospital every week. However, unable to obtain any masks, he became worried that he would not be allowed to enter the hospital. And, having few friends, he found it difficult to ask for help. Fortunately, Ms Lam – a volunteer from the Hong Kong Red Cross (HKRC)’ “Community Health Care Project for the Homebound Elderly in Sham Shui Po” – recently called Mr Ng to ask about his condition and his current needs. After learning that Mr Ng had no masks, the day after the call, she promptly provided him with a variety of infection control items, including surgical masks, alcohol-based hand sanitizer, disinfectant wet wipes, and personal hygiene and psychological support leaflets. With his immediate worries put to rest, Mr Ng expressed his gratitude to Ms Lam.

 

The viral outbreak has not only created huge inconveniences for Mr Ng, it has also made him more prone to have negative emotions due to a lack of social contact with others. Many people also feel the same way during this period, and support from other people can significantly reduce anxiety. Mr Ng is happy to receive regular calls from HKRC volunteers – knowing that other people care about him.

 

While fighting the virus, it is important that we reach out and share our love and care for the elderly people around us and try to understand their needs. This simple act of concern may help ease their minds and resolve their difficulties. In this time of hardship, let’s put into practice the spirit of humanity and show our support and care for our fellow human beings.

香港紅十字會 - 紅會義工為獨居長者送暖

目錄
字型大小
search/搜尋
closeclose

紅會義工為獨居長者送暖


全城搶購口罩及防疫用品,大家可有想過有些獨居長者根本花不起太多金錢去購買防疫物品、甚或缺乏資訊及身體狀況不許可而未能排隊數小時去購買?面對市面防疫物資短缺人人自危,部分長者亦不好意思向他人求助。

 

79歲的吳伯伯已獨居多年,自1月底從新聞得知疫情嚴重,便不敢隨意離家,就連平日經常碰面的鄰居也多日沒有來往。由於沒有口罩,他每天凌晨5時,趁著街上人流不多的時候,才敢到就近的便利店買報紙。以往一日三餐都自己煮食,現在很多時都只可叫外賣,增加生活開支之餘,亦大大影響他的日常生活。

 

吳伯伯是長期病患者,每星期要到醫院覆診,他擔心沒有口罩不能進出醫院,令他非常憂慮。吳伯伯獨居多年,朋友不多,一時間亦不知道可以向誰求助,再加上年紀大,身體狀況欠佳,根本無法長時間排隊購買口罩。幸好香港紅十字會「深水埗社康護耆英服務計劃」的義工林姑娘在疫情爆發期間,透過電話了解他的健康狀況和需要,得悉伯伯正為口罩一事煩惱,翌日便立即向他送上一些防疫物資 (包括口罩、酒精搓手液、消毒濕紙巾、個人衛生常識及心理支援單張等) 應急,伯伯表示感激之餘亦讓他暫時放下心頭大石。

 

病毒肆虐,除了為吳伯伯的生活帶來很多不便之外,亦令他減少與其他人接觸而容易出現負面情緒。在這時候,其實其他人一句慰問已令吳伯伯大大減低情緒上的不安,他很開心定期接到紅十字會義工的來電,與他傾談之餘亦送上安慰,吳伯伯知道身邊仍然有關心他的人,令他覺得很窩心和溫暖。

 

在抗疫期間,除了親友之外,大家不妨主動向身邊的長者送上關懷,了解一下他們的需要,或許你的一句簡單問候和關心,可以幫助長者抒解困境。讓我們一起發揮人道精神,守望相助,共同面對當前社會的艱難時刻。