Cold Pack or Heating Pad?
People always mention “cold pack” and “heating pad”. But when to use which and why?

First of all, what are their principles behind?



Cold Pack


The main effects of cold pack are to cool down and slow down blood circulation of the affected area; ease congestion and potential swelling. The major purpose is to reduce acute inflammation, pain and swelling. Cold pack can be used to treat acute inflammation and pain (when the affected area(s) is (are) red, swelling, and show(s) pain, and burning symptoms), such as strained or sprained muscles, tendons or ligaments, acute osteoarthritis and gout, etc.



Heating Pad


The effects of heating pad are to raise the temperature and increase blood circulation of the affected area, dilating blood vessels to reduce swelling. The purposes are to reduce chronic inflammation, pain and swelling. Heating pad can be used to treat chronic inflammation and pain (when the affected area(s) has (have) no red or fever symptoms) such as chronic back and neck pain, knee osteoarthritis, muscle weakness or spasms.



First Aid and Nursing Care


The purpose of first aid is to prevent deterioration of injuries in a short time; so cold pack is used in most occasions. But remember, cold pack does not necessarily mean ice application.



The use of heating pad depends on the types of injury and conditions of the patient. For example, we cannot use heating pad for inflammation or open wounds. Generally speaking, heating pad is not an ideal choice in case of injuries. It is not advisable to use heating pad within 72 hours after injury unless instructed by the doctor, physiotherapist or other health care workers. Otherwise, it may hinder the recovery of the affected area(s).



Applying cold pack and heating pad may sound easy, but the decision on which to use actually gives different effects in different cases. Suggestions from physiotherapists are always needed to prevent deterioration of your conditions.

Volunteering
Donate Now
Service Directory
Venue Rental
Tender Notice
Red Cross Pulse
The 16th Red Cross International Humanitarian Law Moot
Hong Kong Humanity Award 2017
International Red Cross Movement
Download
Shop to support
Recruitment
Beware of Fraudulent eMails

香港紅十字會 - 冷敷定熱敷?

目錄
字型大小
search/搜尋
closeclose

冷敷定熱敷?


冷敷定熱敷

冷敷 定 熱敷?
常常聽人講「冷敷」「熱敷」,究竟幾時用冷敷?幾時用熱敷?大家知唔知點解?
 

冷敷

冷敷的效果主要是降低患處的溫度,減慢患處的局部血液循環,減慢充血的情況,減輕可能出現的腫脹,達至消除急性炎症,止痛,去腫。適合急性炎症及痛症(患處有紅、腫、痛、熱的徵狀)例如:拉傷或扭傷肌肉、筋腱或韌帶,急性退化性關節炎和痛風症等。


 

熱敷

熱敷的效果主要是升患處的溫度,增加患處的局部血液循環,使皮下血管擴張,舒緩已經出現的腫脹,達至消除慢性炎症,止痛,去腫。適合慢性炎症及痛症(患處沒有發紅或發熱的徵狀)例如:慢性腰頸痛、慢性退化性膝關節炎、肌肉疲勞或痙攣等。


 

急救與護理

以急救而言,目的為短時間內防止傷患的惡化,所以多用冷敷,切記,冷敷不等於冰敷。

 

至於熱敷,就視乎傷患種類,病人情況而定。例如有發炎或未癒合傷口就不可熱敷。一般來說,在受傷情況下,熱敷並非理想選擇。受傷後72小時內,如未有醫生、物理治療師或其他醫護人員指示下,最好避免使用熱敷,否則可能阻礙患處復原。

 

所以冷敷熱敷聽來簡單,其實冷敷或熱敷的決定對不同病情非常有影響,所以最好由物理治療師指導下先好家中使用,以免病情惡化!