國際人道法與紅十字會

甚麼是國際人道法?
 
定義
國際人道法,又稱戰爭法或武裝衝突法,是一系列基於人道理由、去尋求限制武裝衝突所帶來後果的規則。這些規則旨在保護沒有參與或已退出敵對戰鬥的人士,及限制戰爭所用的方法及手段,特別針對解決因國際性或非國際性武裝衝突引發的人道問題。

日內瓦公約 (1949年)及其第一、二附加議定書(1977年)和第三附加議定書(2007年)是組成國際人道法的主要條約。
 
國際人道法的保護
國際人道法在國際性及非國際性武裝衝突中向以下人士及物件提供保護:
  • 平民
  • 受傷或生病的士兵
  • 戰俘
  • 醫務人員
  • 人道工作者
  • 記者
  • 宗教人士
  • 醫院及救護車
  • 文化及宗教場所
  • 水壩及核子設施
 
國際人道法的基本規則
紅十字國際委員會概括了國際人道法的精華。然而,它們並不具備國際法律文件的效力,也無意取代現行條約。撰寫它們旨在促進及提倡國際人道法。

  1. 失去戰鬥能力、已退出戰鬥及未直接參與戰鬥的人士,其生命及身心健全均有權受到尊重。在任何情況下,他們都應受到不加任何不利區別的保護與人道對待。

  2. 禁止殺害或傷害投降或已退出戰鬥的敵人。

  3. 衝突各方應集合在其控制下的傷者和病者,加以照顧。保護對象還應涵蓋醫務人員、醫療設施、醫務運輸及醫療設備。白底紅十字或紅新月標誌,即為保護生命及財物的符號,必須予以保護。

  4. 在敵對一方控制下的戰鬥員和平民,其生命、尊嚴、個人權利與政治、宗教等信念均應受到尊重。他們應受到保護,免受各種暴力與報復行為的傷害。他們應有權與家人通信,以及接受救援。

  5. 每個人都有權享受基本的司法保障。任何人都不應為他所未曾做過的事情負責,也不應遭受肉體上或精神上的酷刑、毒打、或侮辱性的待遇。

  6. 衝突各方及其武裝部隊成員選擇戰爭的方法與手段均受到限制。使用具有造成不必要損失或過度傷害性質的武器或戰爭方法,均受禁止。

  7. 衝突各方在任何時候均應將平民群眾與戰鬥員加以區分,以避免平民群眾及其財產受到傷害。不論是平民群眾或平民個人,都不應成為攻擊的目標。攻擊應只針對軍事目標。
 
實施國際人道法
批准加入了國際人道法的國家政府負起確保國際人道法得到遵守的最基本責任。因此,他們應盡可能廣泛地傳播國際人道法,立法保障國際人道法的實施,並對違反國際人道法的行為行使國內司法權。

在武裝衝突時期,監護國(即由敵對行動各方所挑選的中立國)和 紅十字國際委員會 都會監督和觀察國際人道法的條文是否被遵守。
 
2002年7月1日成立於海牙的 國際刑事法院是由國際法在聯合國系統以外建立的永久性機構。如果國家司法機關沒有能力或不願意審理犯有種族滅絕罪、戰爭罪和違反人道罪的人,國際刑事法院將補充這一國內司法之不足。
 

 

 

香港紅十字會© 2009 版權所有

IHL & Red Cross

What International Humanitarian Law (IHL)?
 
Definition
The International Humanitarian Law, or IHL, is also known as the law of war or the law of armed conflict.  It is a set of rules which seek, for humanitarian reasons, to limit the effects of armed conflict.  It protects persons who are not or are no longer participating in the hostilities and restricts the means and methods of warfare.  It is specifically intended to resolve matters of humanitarian concern arising directly from armed conflicts, whether of an international or non-international nature.

The Geneva Conventions of 1949 and their Additional 1st & 2nd Protocols of 1977 and 3rd Protocol of 2007 are the main instruments of IHL.
 
Protection of IHL
IHL offers protection to the following persons and properties in international and non-international armed conflicts:
  • Civilians
  • Wounded or sick combatants
  • Prisoners of war
  • Medical personnel
  • Humanitarian personnel
  • Journalists
  • Religious personnel
  • Hospitals and ambulances
  • Cultural and religious properties
  • Dams and nuclear plants
 
Essential rules of IHL
The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) has summarized the essence of IHL into a set of rules.  These rules do not have the authority of a legal instrument, and in no way seek to replace the treaties in force, but were drafted with a view to facilitating the promotion of IHL.
  1. Persons who do not or can no longer take part in the hostilities are entitled to respect for their life and for their physical and mental integrity.  Such persons must in all circumstances be protected and treated with humanity, without any unfavourable distinction whatever.

  2. It is forbidden to kill or wound an adversary who surrenders or who can no longer take part in the fighting.

  3. The wounded and sick must be collected and cared for by the party to the conflict which has them in its power.  Medical personnel and medical establishments, transports and equipment must be spared.  The red cross or red crescent on a white background is the sign protecting such persons and objects and must be respected.

  4. Captured combatants and civilians who find themselves under the authority of the adverse party are entitled to respect for their life, their dignity, their personal rights and their political, religious and other convictions.  They must by protected against all acts of violence or reprisal.  They are entitled to exchange news with their families and receive aid. 

  5. Everyone must enjoy basic judicial guarantees and no one may be held responsible for an act he has not committed.  No one may be subjected to physical or mental toture or to cruel or degrading corporal punishment or other treatment.

  6. Neither the parties to the conflict nor members of their armed forces have an unlimited right to choose methods and means of warfare.  It is forbidden t use weapons or methods of warfare that are likely to cause unnecessary losses or excessive suffering.

  7. The parties to a conflict must at all times distinguish between the civilian population and combatants in order to spare the civilian population and civilian property.  Neither the civilian population as a whole nor individual civilians may be attacked.  Attacks may be made solely against military objectives.
 
Implementing IHL
States, who ratified IHL, are primarily responsible for ensuring compliance of IHL.  They should, therefore, spread the knowledge of IHL as far as possible, adopt legislative and statutory provisions of IHL and exercise national jurisdiction over perpetrators.

Both the Protecting Powers, i.e. the neutral states selected by the parties in hostility, and ICRC will monitor the compliance with the provision s of IHL for the duration of the conflicts.
 
International Criminal Court (ICC) , a permanent institution established outside the UN system by international treaty, will complement national jurisdictions that are unable or unwilling to bring justice to the perpetrators of genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity.
 
Red Cross as Guardian
Under the Geneva Conventions and the Statutes of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, the ICRC should act as the promoter and guardian of IHL, and must encourage respect for it.  It does so by spreading knowledge of IHL and by reminding parties to conflicts of their obligations.
 
Dissemination and Advisory Service
Since ignorance of IHL is an obstacle to its implementation, the ICRC reminds States that they have undertaken to make the humanitarian provisions known.  It also takes its own action to this end.  The ICRC further reminds States that they must take all the necessary steps to ensure that the law is applied effectively and therefore respected.  It does so chiefly through its Advisory Service on IHL, which provides technical guidance to States and helps their authorities adopt national implementing laws and regulations.
 
Reminding parties in conflict of their obligations
On the strength of the conclusions it draws from its protection and assistance work, the ICRC makes confidential representations to the relevant authorities in the event of violations of IHL.  If the violations are serious and repeated and it can be established with certainty that they have occurred, the ICRC reserves the right to take a public stance; it does so only if it deems such publicity to be in the interest of the people affected or threatened.  This therefore remains an exceptional measure.  
 

 

Copyright © 2009 Hong Kong Red Cross | All Rights Reserved